SundialEV vs. evcc

Solar EV charging without running a server

evcc is excellent, open source and local. SundialEV is the better fit if you'd rather not host anything: it runs in the cloud, looks up your US utility's rates by zip, and controls a Tesla without a developer account or command proxy. If your solar was interconnected after April 15, 2023 (NEM 3.0), exports earn a fraction of retail — 4.5¢ per kWh against about 35¢ to import on PG&E (rates as of July 2026), so every kWh your car absorbs instead is worth far more.

SundialEV is the better fit if…

Where evcc is strong

Open source, running locally on your own hardware — your data stays with you.

Very broad hardware support: 200+ chargers, 50+ vehicles, 200+ solar and storage systems.

Deep energy logic: home-battery priority, dynamic tariffs, and Dynamic Feed-In that pauses charging when export pays more.

What a Tesla takes on evcc

evcc's Tesla docs describe the setup for controlling a Tesla's charging:

Source: evcc's own page, checked September 26, 2026.

SundialEV connects with your Tesla sign-in and a virtual key approved on the car.

evcc vs. SundialEV

FeatureevccSundialEV
Solar-surplus charging Yes Yes — follows your live surplus
Works without a Powerwall Yes Yes — Tesla Solar, Enphase, SolarEdge, Solis, Growatt, Emporia Vue, Sense, or the push API
Savings tracked against your tariff Yes Yes — your utility's import and export rates, looked up by zip
Powerwall first, then the car Yes — home battery priority level Yes — solar goes to the car once the Powerwall reaches your priority level
Sell-at-peak window Yes — Dynamic Feed-In Yes — a daily window where solar exports instead of charging
Non-Tesla EVs Yes — 200+ chargers, 50+ vehicles Any EV on a Wallbox Pulsar Plus (OCPP) or Emporia charger; Ford battery level (beta)
Cloud or self-hosted Self-hosted Cloud — iOS, Android and web apps
US utility rates Fixed or time-based tariffs you enter; US utility plans not stated Yes — US utility rates, NEM 3.0 and net billing

Every evcc cell links to the page it came from, checked September 26, 2026. “Not stated” means their pages don't say either way. Spotted something out of date? Email support@sundialev.com and we'll fix it.

What would charging on surplus save you?

Enter your zip and the calculator uses your utility's real rates.

Frequently asked questions

Is SundialEV open source like evcc?
No. SundialEV is a hosted service with iOS, Android and web apps. If running your own server is the point for you, evcc is a great choice.
Can I feed SundialEV local data the way evcc reads it?
Yes. The push API takes readings you send from your own network.
Do I need a Tesla developer account for SundialEV?
No. Sign in with Tesla and approve SundialEV's virtual key on the car during setup.

Keep your surplus in the car

SundialEV charges from your solar surplus automatically.