SundialEV vs. OverflowEV

SundialEV vs. OverflowEV for US solar homes

OverflowEV and SundialEV both charge your EV from surplus solar, through a Tesla or an OCPP wallbox. SundialEV is the better fit when your savings depend on a US utility's export rate: it looks up your utility's rates by zip. If your solar was interconnected after April 15, 2023 (NEM 3.0), exports earn a fraction of retail — 4.5¢ per kWh against about 35¢ to import on PG&E (rates as of July 2026), so every kWh your car absorbs instead is worth far more.

SundialEV is the better fit if…

Where OverflowEV is strong

More inverter brands through cloud APIs — Fronius, Sungrow, GoodWe, SolaX, FoxESS, AlphaESS, Sigenergy and more.

OCPP 1.6 wallboxes from Wallbox, ABB, Schneider, KEBA, Fronius Wattpilot and others.

Home battery priority: it can fill the house battery before the car.

OverflowEV vs. SundialEV

FeatureOverflowEVSundialEV
Solar-surplus charging Yes Yes — follows your live surplus
Works without a Powerwall Yes Yes — Tesla Solar, Enphase, SolarEdge, Solis, Growatt, Emporia Vue, Sense, or the push API
Savings tracked against your tariff Yes — savings vs. grid charging, at rates you enter Yes — your utility's import and export rates, looked up by zip
Powerwall first, then the car Not stated (has “home battery priority”) Yes — solar goes to the car once the Powerwall reaches your priority level
Sell-at-peak window Not stated Yes — a daily window where solar exports instead of charging
Non-Tesla EVs Yes — OCPP 1.6 wallboxes Any EV on a Wallbox Pulsar Plus (OCPP) or Emporia charger; Ford battery level (beta)
Cloud or self-hosted Cloud Cloud — iOS, Android and web apps
US utility rates Manual time-of-use rates; no US rate database stated Yes — US utility rates, NEM 3.0 and net billing

Every OverflowEV cell links to the page it came from, checked September 26, 2026. “Not stated” means their pages don't say either way. Spotted something out of date? Email support@sundialev.com and we'll fix it.

What would charging on surplus save you?

Enter your zip and the calculator uses your utility's real rates.

Frequently asked questions

Is SundialEV an OverflowEV alternative in the US?
Yes. Both charge from surplus through a Tesla or a wall charger; SundialEV adds US utility rates by zip, NEM 3.0 savings tracking and a sell-at-peak window.
My inverter works with OverflowEV but isn't on your list — can I still use SundialEV?
Often, yes: if you can read it on your own network, the push API feeds SundialEV like a native connection.
Which wall chargers does SundialEV support?
The Wallbox Pulsar Plus over OCPP and the Emporia charger through Emporia's cloud; other OCPP chargers are early access.

Keep your surplus in the car

SundialEV charges from your solar surplus automatically.