SundialEV vs. Optiwatt

Charging on your own solar vs. off-peak grid

Optiwatt times your charging to your utility's cheapest or cleanest grid hours. Its own pages don't describe charging from rooftop solar surplus. SundialEV is the better fit if you have solar and export it for a low credit: it sends that surplus to your car. If your solar was interconnected after April 15, 2023 (NEM 3.0), exports earn a fraction of retail — 4.5¢ per kWh against about 35¢ to import on PG&E (rates as of July 2026), so every kWh your car absorbs instead is worth far more.

SundialEV is the better fit if…

Where Optiwatt is strong

Utility reward programs — some pay you to enroll and shift your charging.

Broad vehicle coverage: 27 EV brands plus ChargePoint chargers.

Real US utility rates — time-of-use and real-time — and 36+ utility programs.

Optiwatt vs. SundialEV

FeatureOptiwattSundialEV
Solar-surplus charging Not stated — times charging to cleaner grid hours Yes — follows your live surplus
Works without a Powerwall Yes — no home battery needed Yes — Tesla Solar, Enphase, SolarEdge, Solis, Growatt, Emporia Vue, Sense, or the push API
Savings tracked against your tariff Charging cost on your utility rate Yes — your utility's import and export rates, looked up by zip
Powerwall first, then the car Not stated Yes — solar goes to the car once the Powerwall reaches your priority level
Sell-at-peak window Not stated Yes — a daily window where solar exports instead of charging
Non-Tesla EVs Yes — 27 EV brands (non-Tesla in listed states and provinces) and ChargePoint Any EV on a Wallbox Pulsar Plus (OCPP) or Emporia charger; Ford battery level (beta)
Cloud or self-hosted Cloud Cloud — iOS, Android and web apps
US utility rates Yes — time-of-use and real-time rates, 36+ utility programs Yes — US utility rates, NEM 3.0 and net billing

Every Optiwatt cell links to the page it came from, checked September 26, 2026. “Not stated” means their pages don't say either way. Spotted something out of date? Email support@sundialev.com and we'll fix it.

What would charging on surplus save you?

Enter your zip and the calculator uses your utility's real rates.

Frequently asked questions

Does Optiwatt charge from my solar panels?
Its own pages describe scheduling charging for cheap or clean grid hours, not following your rooftop surplus. SundialEV follows your surplus using your inverter's or monitor's data.
I don't have solar. Which should I use?
Optiwatt. SundialEV is built for homes with solar.
Should I run both at once?
No — pick one. Two apps adjusting the same car's charging will fight each other.

Keep your surplus in the car

SundialEV charges from your solar surplus automatically.